More on the cartel attack on a border ranch

Let there be no doubt — the ranch lands along the Arizona Sonora border are a dangerous place.

On May 18, 2010 a ranch on the Sonoran side of the US border near Nogales was attacked by “masked men and some with their faces painted weird colors”. One of their cowboys was murdered.

This ranch is on one of the major drug smuggling corridors into Arizona.

A key issue raised by this event is the obvious conclusion that Mexican authorities have abandoned their side of the border to criminals.

I am deleting the name of the ranchers beacuse of concern for their safety from reprisals.

Here’s the story in the rancher’s own words:

The attack happened on our ranch.

On Tuesday, May 18th my cowboy and I were at the corrals here in Mexico bringing in my hembras. Due to the fact we had 2 loads of cattle we went back twice to the ranch to pick up the hembras. The cattle were unloaded late and therefore my cowboy returned late to the ranch, probably around 8:30pm. I stayed to find a buyer and cross the cattle Wednesday morning.

For the last 10 years it is always customary to communicate with our motorola radios daily, especially at night if you’re arriving late. If for some reason the radios aren’t functioning I receive a text that they arrived fine.

My other cowboy wanted to take some days off so Jesus returned alone. I waited for what seemed like forever for him to call on the radio but nothing. My husband offered to go but it was already 10 pm and I didn’t want to send him alone. I assumed he would call in the morning. In the morning nothing.

At the corrals I saw my ranch neighbor, the ranch we need to cross through to get to ours to ask if he could check to see if Jesus went through. The answer was yes. I was also informed that 2 vehicles went through with masked men and some with their faces painted weird colors.

To cut to the quick after I crossed the cattle I immediately headed up to the ranch to find the ranch similar to an earthquake in Haiti and no Jesus.

Windows were smashed, furniture was broken, etc. etc. just a mess. I raced back to ask the police to investigate and help me look for Jesus.

There are many forms to fill out and unless there is a huge convoy to go up there basically they are scared. They said the scicarios have more sophisticated equipment than they do and well, Couldn’t go up till the next day. They needed to inform the mafia they were going up there before they could go. So the next day we went. They did their investigation…. found nothing.

Then I went to the soldiers for help me to look for Jesus and protection while I fixed up the ranch because the police wouldn’t. The soldiers said unless we find drugs it’s the job of the police. Well the police told me it was the soldiers’ territory. Everyone is staying out of it.

Our ranch is out there with no law and everything goes.

A month later Jesus was found buried less than a mile from my ranch house.

They tied him up with my rope, some say he was shot, others say he was hit with an ax.

The funeral home would not tell me anything, nor let me see him, nor I nor the family. They said it wasn’t allowed.

So I paid for a funeral, not ever really seeing him, we had to identify him by his clothes alone.

About Hugh Holub

Attorney and writer.
This entry was posted in border issues, border security, mexican drug cartels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

